Soosan Danesh – Lines of Enquiry

Soosan Danesh, Summer Light 2.JPG
My aim is to create atmospheric, emotional and engaging images, to offer the viewer a space to daydream or evoke a distant memory. I try not to think of the end result and just draw my line of thoughts and emotions of what I see. I capture the images by camera or make some quick on-site sketches before working on the new painting in my studio. Usually I start with a loosely brushed horizon and scenes of colour washes across the surface of canvas or wood, and in contrast with some crisp edges to emphasise the  delicate balance between colour and lines. I work with acrylic and oil paint, and predominantly in multiple or Triptych combinations, mainly abstract or in recognisable landscape.

Constant Rhythm
For this exhibition I was really inspired by the collaborative workshops we had, especially with the integrating experiments with colours and natural patterns. All that overlapping vision was a great starting point for my paintings, and our collaborative work.

IMG_5907 - Copy

Soosan Danesh’s work will be on show in the ‘Lines of Enquiry’ Exhibition at the Maclaurin Gallery in Ayr from Saturday 2nd July- Sunday 6th August

Leave a Reply

