Reworked with John Nowak

1

My interests lie in abstract painting and in particular relationships of colour and form. Taking my inspiration from both the natural and built environments I am currently exploring the possibilities of applying opaque, impenetrable colour giving the paintings a sense of weight and substance.

 

Most recently I have been interested in the works of the German artist Imi Knoeble and the Cuban-American abstract, minimalist painter, Carmen Herrera.

 

For this exhibition I have reworked some ideas for figurative pictures that I initially developed in 2013 and 2014 but applying strong, dense colour in the manner of my current approach to abstract painting.

2

 

 

John Nowak is showing his work at the Reworked Exhibition, Summerhall.

sciennes-oct-nov-v1-1390

Leave a Reply

