Reworked with Irene Campbell

REWORKED

An exhibition by Mesh Artists Collective and Friends

Sciennes Gallery, Summerhall, Edinburgh, EH9 1PL.

Open daily from 11am – 6pm, 4th – 27th November 2016

An integral aspect of an artist’s working practice is to periodically revisit, recycle and refine their initial ideas. REWORKED invites Mesh artists and friends to review their stock of research pieces and trial studies, further work them, and present them in reworked form. 

To encourage greater collaboration and opportunities for rethinking ideas, the group also have been tasked with reworking a research piece of another artist.  This brief aims to give artists greater understanding of their own personal development process and overcome any fear of departure from the initial ideas.

In the run up to the exhibition we will be posting a glimpse behind the scenes as the artists prepare their work.

image-04-10-2016-at-15-25

What inspires you?

I am inspired by landscape but I think of landscape as a very loose definition that covers objects and interiors as well as the space around me . I interpret landscape for myself using shapes and colours and that is my main source of inspiration . The object or space is the starting point.

Describe your studio

I am very lucky in that I have a home work space and a small studio. My home space has, apart from a table, a cupboard, a bookcase, a plan chest , and lots of boxes of invaluable stuff .
My studio is in a former police station in Peebles, and is one of six old cells ,now used by artists . All the studios are a neat rectangle and retain the original doors. Mine contains a long table , a small table that I use as an easel and a carpet. And lots of boxes.
What music do you listen to?
Outdoors I like listening to natural noises around me but indoors I tend to work in silence.
What book is on your bedside table?
I am re-reading a P G Wodehouse. Indiscretions of Archie
What does Reworked mean for you?

My plan chest is full works I have started and then laid aside to consider further.  A bit of time without seeing a ghost print or a few experimental marks on paper is never wasted. 

Reworked has allowed me to revisit and reappraise these efforts and I found that I was inspired by the colours and space in my own garden while using these original works as my starting point
Find out more about Irene Campbell and her work by visiting our members’ profiles.
Come and visit our exhibition to see the results of her Reworks

REWORKED

An exhibition by Mesh Artists Collective and Friends

Sciennes Gallery, Summerhall, Edinburgh, EH9 1PL.

Open daily from 11am – 6pm, 4th – 27th November 2016

Leave a Reply

